Clean

I love you in the stillness of a rainy day. The echo of the raindrops on the pavement. A fresh shower. The smell of clean skin and brushed teeth and hot coffee. Bundled in white linen and old movies. Frank Sinatra playing in the kitchen. A baby sleeping in the next room, her breath gurgling over the white noise of the baby monitor in our room.

I love you in the wreckage of a hurricane. Sweeping through our lives, destroying everything in its path. The destruction of change. The growth from change. How I love you even more after the pain, than before it. Because love isn’t a stagnant phrase, love changes and grows through phases. And we do too. Bigger and better and stronger.

I love you because you love me. Strongly, fiercely, courageously; like a man should.

I love you because you are so deserving of love.

I love you for looking at me and seeing me. You’re the only one who ever has.

Leave a Reply

