The Story or The Soundtrack

I’m just going to come right out and say it; I’m addicted to social media. I don’t know what it is about constantly needing to have my mind stimulated, particularly by images. Of beautiful people, a mountain hike, an aesthetically pleasing categorization of random objects… 

I’m only mentioning my awful social media habits because it is a precursor to my story…about stories. See, I was updating my instagram bio today (because that is important) and I was trying to decide what I love. What I am passionate about. And after a few tries, I came up with this: “lover of a good story and an even better soundtrack.”

And beyond the mundane fact that I have now let the cyber world sum me up in a sentence, I fell in love (and confusion) with this phrase. Because for as long as I can remember, I have had two constant loves in my life: songs & stories. And even though I have now lead the world to believe that I love the background music more than the story itself, I’m not sure that this is true. I’m not sure which one of these is actually more important.

My appreciation for music, particularly soundtrack music (or orchestrals), has grown with my ascension into adulthood. The way a tune can make you feel, with literally no words at all, is indescribable. A mood can be changed in an instant, a moment can be defined.

But what is life without the story? The story is composed of the people and the laughter and the mistakes. The uncomfortability of life, and the rare moments of peace. Words; such beautiful words.

But lately words have brought nothing but the stress and strain to put into proper diction the way that I feel. Most days this is impossible.  For such a lover of stories, of eloquent phrases and the way a man can say so little and yet make a heart bleed…I haven’t needed the stories like I have so desperately needed the music.

I need music on the days when simply words aren’t enough. Because we all know, as humans, that words so rarely do life justice.

Here’s a soundtrack that helps me to feel and be still:

Wish I Was Here: Original Motion Picture Score

One thought on “The Story or The Soundtrack

Leave a Reply

