Monday

“I’ve learned that you can tell a lot about a person by the way (s)he handles these three things: a rainy day, lost luggage, and tangled Christmas tree lights.”
Maya Angelou

I’ve always loved this quote, but I never thought too hard about it until today, so I decided to read it carefully and figure out just how I would handle these three scenarios.

1) A rainy day.

This one came within seconds. I’ve always loved the rain, and I always look forward to it. If it’s dark and stormy, or light and cleansing, I love it all. If it rains, I want it to pour, and I want to be right in the middle of it.

2) Lost luggage.

This one didn’t come as easily. I freaked out today because I lost my iPhone charger and thought I had lost it permanently. What if I lost an entire case of luggage? In a completely foreign place? At first glance, I thought that I would handle this well though…and after further consideration I’ve decided it wouldn’t matter all too much. I don’t really have any possessions I feel like I couldn’t live without. This phone is pretty cool but, I’d probably be better off….

3) Tangled Christmas tree lights.

Like a pair of my favorite headphones or a pair of old sneakers with knotted-up laces, I’d do what I always do. Sit down on the floor, take the mess in my hands, and find out how to fix it. The answer to this was simple because I could see myself doing it, and even though I can’t say I can sit on the floor and solve all of my problems, maybe if I approached them like I do a tangled pair of headphones, with patience and determination, I could fix a lot more.

We’ll miss you Maya. You colorful soul.

Leave a Reply

