Martian Child

My favorite movies are indies with well known actors.

Not the overly artistic-lets-rub-it-in-your-face-that-its-indie indie’s, but you know, the good ones.

In my top 5 list of favorite movies, these are some of the three:

  1. Life as A House (Kevin Kline, I love you)
  2. Catch and Release
  3. Martian Child

https://i1.wp.com/images.zap2it.com/movies/48512/48512_ba.jpg

I love Martian Child for multiple reasons.

  1. John Cusack and Amanda Peet in the same movie?! Seriously.
  2. The theme of hope after loss.
  3. THIS KID.

So, for those who haven’t seen this movie, it’s about a science fiction writer who is recently widowed. Before his wife died, they were planning on adopting a child, but now David doesn’t think he can do it on his own. When the adoption agency calls him about a special case, he decides to check it out. In walks (scoots in to scene in a box) the best kid on Earth:

https://i1.wp.com/i2.listal.com/image/1216152/600full-martian-child-screenshot.jpg

His name is Dennis and he is convinced he is from Mars. He stays in the box because he is afraid he is allergic to the sun and wears a “holding-down belt” to keep him from floating away. The scene where David meets Dennis for the first time, a little girl calls him a freak. That’s when I (and David too) fell in love.

I was a weird kid. I was chubby and totally had a unibrow that my mom would just not let me get rid of (mom I still hold this against you.) I vividly remember in the 7th grade during recess, I sat on a stump in the middle of the football field, alone for over an hour. Mortifying. David was weird too, so he instantly bonds with Dennis. Throughout the film, David is trying to help Dennis realize he’s not from Mars, and that its ok to be a normal kid. On the flip-side, he also knows what it’s like to pretend he’s from a different world himself:

I found my escape through my stories. My imagination was like a rocket ship that took me far away where I could look at life from a safe distance.

In the end, they both come to a general consensus that it’s ok to be a little weird, but that Dennis belongs on Earth because David loves him and he belongs with him. (I know, tearjerker)

So why am I ranting and over-tweeting about this nerdy movie? Because I want that. I wish I would have embraced being weird as a kid. Is that weird? I wish I would have used that creativity that spawned from years of being socially awkward and not having any friends, to cultivate something cool. Instead, I think I tried to fit into the norm, which I’m realizing the older that I get, is just boring.

I’d rather think I was a space alien than waste a second of my time worrying what people think about me. If I get lucky enough to have a family one day, I want my kids to be weird. And I will totally encourage them to be.

https://i1.wp.com/d3gtl9l2a4fn1j.cloudfront.net/t/p/original/fzpoHK90jfRBrIgnGJWcMWRveY5.jpg

transfobomedial.

Leave a Reply

