Johnny Cash Died for My Sins

Sometimes I make lists of alternate life-plans when I get stressed out.

Over the past few weeks, I came up with these:

  1. Become a whale trainer at SeaWorld
  2. Since I dress like a Hobo, why not become one?
  3. Ben and Jerry’s flavor creator (or just tester since I eat so much)

In other news, I’m pretty sad. I just found out that I have to work every day this weekend. Meaning, if I can’t get my shifts covered, I get to go home for a total of 2 days. not cool. So to cope, I’m procrastinating on my twelve page paper, stress tweeting, and pretty much staring at my computer thinking of how to best handle the pile of anxiety that is currently weighing me down.

here’s some random stuff on my mind/occurring in my life/things I’m stoked for:

Image

summer

Image

dad and uncles, circa 1968. (dad is the bro’d out one in flare pants)

Image

IT’S CHRISTMAS TIME @ CRACKER BARREL, YA’LL. (including politically correct Santa’s)

Image

here’s a pretty leaf shaped like a heart, that I stopped walking traffic for.

I don’t really know what direction I’m going with this post…

I guess when I stress, I write. And when I write, things get clearer. I think the best thing to do in this situation I’m in right now, when I have a lot of things stressing me out that I can’t really control, is realize just that. That I can only do so much about the situation I’m in, and however it turns out, is how it will turn out. Although things are stressful, they are also really good. I found this quote the other day that summed up this past Sunday.

Once in awhile, amidst all your bad days, you’ll have a good day. A great day even. Make sure you remember those days. Keep them safely in the pockets of your coat, or in a jar on your desk, because you need to know that there are, and will be, better days. You need to remember how on those days, you felt warm inside; like you’ve just drunk a hot cup of tea. Like a small fire has ignited inside of you. Hold on to the warmth and never let it go.

This is basically what it felt like when I got to strap up my 8th grade soccer cleats and go play an intramural game with my friends on Sunday. We sucked, but it was simple, and great, and I have bruises to prove it. Other good things include my room in my apartment, which is now starting to feel like home since I bought six different holiday scent candles and hung crazy things all over my walls. Or when I found my new awesome Johnny Cash shirt in a shop window on the way to work, which will probably offend a lot of people since it says: “Johnny Cash died for my sins.” Blasphemy at its finest…

Here is a boring video of my family singing christmas carols, which none of you will care about, but I love.

Leave a Reply

