Beauty School Drop-Out

Today, I understand why people drop out of college.

I don’t know if it’s the “junior year slump” or if it’s my utter lack of interest in writing a one page essay every week about ancient buildings. Maybe its just that I’m insanely lazy. Maybe I’m just changing..again.

I watch documentaries of 20 year olds going to foreign countries and doing things. real, important things. Like hearing peoples stories, and helping those who are in pain. In high school I became obsessed with this show called “The Buried Life.” These 4 nameless guys from Canada set out one day with a cheap video camera and a list of things they wanted to do before they die. For each thing they accomplished on their list, they would help someone else along the way accomplish something they wanted to do. They didn’t set out to be famous, they just wanted to live. 

I just want an opportunity. Some sign that says: “HEY! Here’s the chance of a lifetime, go. do. be somebody.”

Sometimes I get frustrated with how lazy I am. How little effort I put into school. How some days all i do is get sucked into Friday Night Lights on Netflix and ignore meetings, and friends, and schoolwork.

And sometimes I think the reason I’m this way is because I’m meant to do something so much more than be a student in Knoxville, TN.

 

Don’t get me wrong, college has its perks. I don’t want to be that person who takes an opportunity like this for granted. I just feel stagnant sometimes. 

 

For now I guess I’ll go back to the boring paper-writing and put my day dreams on hold…Although it would really help if my ghetto neighborhood would do me a large favor and stop blasting whatever that poor excuse for music is. I HATE TECHNO. TECHNO RAP IS NOT HOOD. LISTEN TO BIGGY, THEN I WILL APPRECIATE YOU.

 

Leave a Reply

