I Will Learn to Love the Skies I’m Under

The Outdoor Program here at UTK is one thing I am so grateful to have gotten a chance to be a part of since transferring.

Not only is it the most random group of people I’ve ever met, but I finally got to climb at the OBED this weekend. How cool is that?

Image

So now that I’m back from my weekend of solitude and learning about different ways to poop in the woods, (obviously a favorite topic with outdoor lovers), I have to readjust to the craziness of my weekly life. For example, I answered a political science midterm question today with “don’t fight, war is bad.” If this isn’t enough proof that I need to get my act together when it comes to school, I don’t know what is…

Anyway, besides that, I’m pretty determined to stay on track when it comes to who I want to be and where I want to go. As easy as it would be to take the easy way out, or to get distracted, I just know that this time I am a lot stronger. That I have the support of so many people around me, which is something I couldn’t ever wrap my mind around until the past year. You never know how much of a difference it makes in someone’s life to just let them know that you believe in them. That you know they can make it through whatever craziness they are going through.

Image

So in the meantime, I’m going to try my best to do what the awesome Mumford song above says.

“Hold me fast, cause I’m a hopeless wanderer.

And I will learn, I will learn to love the skies I’m under.”

Hope you guys have a week packed with stupid midterms, lots of rain, and… just kidding.

Take lots of naps. Lots and lots of naps.

I took my weekly Monday 4-hour nap today and it was freaking fantastic.

Last side-note: While we were doing the typical and cheesy campfire deep-life-talk thing this weekend, we played this game where we went around to different people and asked them 3 random questions. A guy named Mitchell got asked what was the best advice he’d ever been given. I liked his answer:

When all else fails, focus on your breathing.

P.P.S: the mutually asked question to everyone was:

“If you could have a magic drink machine that could produce any liquid in the world, what would it be?”

EASY.

  1. Vanilla Creme Soda from Olive Garden
  2. Tennessee Jack Daniels Honey Whiskey
  3. Manzana, straight from Mexico

Bam.

Leave a Reply

