White Jesus

All week long I have been trying to find something great to blog about.

As I sit here staring at this blank page, trying to rack my world-civilization’s-261 fried brain of something genius that happened to me this week, I start to hear something that sounds like humming coming from the room beside me. I stop typing to figure out whats going on…and then I realize it’s my roommate Austin Chittaphong; and he’s singing Ashlee Simpson. And now I have something to write about.

To those of you who have been hiding under a rock your whole life, this beautiful man right here is da greatest up & comin’ rapper that eva waz: Rittz aka “White Jesus.” Also, the first part was a complete joke. I only know who this is because I had to attend the Yelawolf concert and write a review on it for the Beacon two days ago.

So, what does White Jesus have to do with my roommate and his affinity for teen-pop?

If there is one thing I’ve always been good at, its finding humor in almost any situation. Ask people who know me, I’m the girl who will laugh at anything. I’ve been told by multiple old people while i was waitressing that my laugh was my only saving grace at my job (which is sort of sad, but whatever.)

Basically, life is a whole lot lighter for me when I can find things to laugh about.

This week provided a lot:

1.) Getting stuck on a rock in my sea-kayak in front of a bunch of old dudes

2.) White Jesus song: “my momma said i shoulda had brown eyes, why? cause im full of shit.”

3.) Sharing my love of Parks & Rec with every new person I meet

4.) Hearing my roommate singing from across the room at midnight

5.) Being cornered by the Baptist Collegiate Ministry girls while listening to Biggy, alone.

Imagejournalism notes.

A combination of things have made life really good for me lately.

Supportive friends, Microwave Sm’ores, Great Weather, Endless amounts of the O.C, and finding something everyday to laugh about.

please listen to Hypnotize as you walk to class and try not to feel like a total G.

instant mood booster.

if you feel the urge to dance though, just try to keep you’re inner hoodrat, in.

“There was a while when I was feeling like, Damn, if I’d just been born black, I would not have to go through all this.”

— Eminem

Leave a Reply

